Cindy's Blubbering Blog
Monday, 23. September 2002
Welcome to Cindy's Webliography Page

For those of you who just happened upon this page randomly, let me introduce myself. My name is Cindy Reid and I am currently a Junior at Marshall University majoring in Communication Disorders. This page was inspired by my CD 315 class. I've put it together so that you may get a glimpse into my life and my interests! Hope you enjoy...feel free to make comments!! If you would only like to look at select info, such as my CD 315 Multigenre Research Project or my personal writings, see my Table of Contents for some directions.

WILD STUFF

If your into scary movies this one looks like it will be a real thriller. Anthony Hopkins plays Hannibal Lector once again. This movie is supposed to be the prequel to Silence of the Lambs. The killer has a cleft palate/lip in the movie. Wanna see the trailer? I'm warning ya its really its really scary.(Red Dragon Preview) I would also like to let everyone know that a cleft palate does not, I repeat DOES NOT turn you into a psycho murderer.

I listen to these guys every morning on my way to Marshall. My hour drive goes by alot quicker with the radio tuned in to Bob and Tom. These fellas have the best morning show. If you don't listen to the show...maybe you should tune in. I'm sure people think I am crazy when they pass by me on the Interstate and I am laughing hysterically...if you tune in maybe you can appear to be crazy too!! The web site contains alot of comical pics and quotes. It also has alot of great links.

In the 8th grade my Health teacher's name was Cindy Reed. I saw her a few years ago and we had a good laugh that I would be Cindy Reid after I married my husband Matt. Seems as though there are quite a few of us in this world. Here are some sites of other Cindy Rieds.
Cindy Reid (golf player)
Cindy Reid (ballet instructor)
There was one more Cindy Reid but...well let's just say her site is for entertainment purposes. Hee Hee!

Want to take a quiz to see how well you know me? I have developed a 10 question quiz about myself. My brother got a 50% (that would be an F) and my Dad scored a 70% (that would be a C). See if you can beat their scores!Take Cindy's Quiz ...you may learn a thing or two.

THINGS I LOVE

Obviously, I love Marshall University. Attending Marshall is a childhood dream come true! (Funny though, I can't wait to graduate!) Marshall has one of the greatest football programs and also a distinguished Communication Disorders (Speech Pathology) Department. GO HERD!!!

I love frogs. I have a massive collection and the extra bedroom in my house is dedicated to them. The walls are even painted "Bullfrog Green". You can find frogs in every room of my house...even both bathrooms. If you love frogs as much as I do then you have to get some cool clothes from Peace Frogs. You can order a catalog from this site too. C'mon get your Frog Fix!!

I love Harleys. My husband and I have a 2001 Harley Davidson Fatboy. We love to ride as often as possible. He is going to build me a Harley Davidson Fatboy Trike when I get my Masters Degree in a few years. I have to have one with 3 wheels so I don't fall over. Hee hee!! If you would like to know more about Harley Davidson Motorcycles or would like to find a Harley shop close to home click here Harley Davidson. Ride Free!!

INTERESTING SITES FOR THE FUTURE SLP

Anyone interested in Speech-Language Pathology should become familar with ASHA. ASHA stands for American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. It contains a plethra of information.

Another great place to visit is the ASHA Code of Ethics. These are the ethical principles and rules that an SLP should abide by professionally. I keep a printed copy in my bookbag at all times.

If you have trouble spelling words like I do,(funny, I was a great speller before I took Phonetics)or if you need clarification of a term, you can go to Merriam-Webster Online. to look it up. If you are really feeling studious (sp?) you could learn a new word everyday and incorporate it into your conversations. This may trick someone into perceiving you as intelligent! Hee Hee.

The Smile Train has also become a great source of information for me. They claim to have the world's largest cleft library. It's divided into medical and public collections. Almost all of the articles are available in full text from this site. If you would like to know more about The Smile Train you can find the homepage link under my Discipline Specific category.

I encourage all Marshall Communication Disorder students or anyone else who may be interested to visit the Marshall University NSSLHA site. If your not a member yet I would also encourage you to join. This site explains what NSSLHA is and how you can join. We had alot of fun last year and I'm sure we will again this year.

RESEARCH RESOURCES

Here are a list of Research Resources that I used when trying to find information for my CD 315 Multigenre Research Project (MRP). My topic for the MRP was Cleft Palate. These sites provided me with alot of useful information and were very interesting.

The Smile Train is an international charity doing great things for children. They are providing free cleft surgery and related treatments for children who are not fortunate enough to receive it otherwise. It's a great site to visit! You can link to the cleft library they have available by clicking above or directly from the Interesting Sites for the Future SLP (above category)link.

American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association is an national organization providing services for persons with cleft lip, cleft palate, and other facial deformities. This site provides a lot of info including ACPA Journal online. You can access current and past issues of the journal. It provides a great way to stay updated on the latest research,treatment, and surgical procedures for cleft lip/palate.

Another great site to visit is Wide Smiles; a nonprofit organization providing resources, support and information for familes, children, and adults affected by cleft lip/palate. This site has soooo much information. It can answer all your basic questions concerning cleft lip/palate, connect you with support groups available, and also provides cleft related terms and definitions. This organization was developed by parents of children with clefts and serves as an advocate for cleft affected persons everywhere.

Speaking of advocacy, Cleft Advocate provides an overwhelming amount of information from cleft teams, insurance issues, to state mandated health benefits information for cleft affected individuals. I certainly can't leave out their great photo gallery, chat room, and a mailing list of which I am a member!

Feel free to email me with any questions, comments or suggestions. :)

This page last updated on December 8, 2002.

Online for 7914 days
Last modified: 1/4/11, 9:13 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
December
Recent updates
References: To see my references
click here: Back to Reflections Forward to Table of Contents
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 9:05 AM)
Welcome to Cindy's Webliography Page
For those of you who just happened upon this...
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 9:01 AM)
A Smile All His Own-
Powerpoint Scrapbook This is a internet story book written by...
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 9:00 AM)
CLEFT Poem Courage to face
all the obstacles to come, Love to accept your child...
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 8:59 AM)
Table of Contents *
About the Author * Acknowledgements * Preface Multigenre Research Project- Genres...
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 8:23 AM)
" Dear Baby" Journal Entries
June 23, 2002 Dear Baby, Today was supposed to be...
by cindyreid (12/17/02, 7:36 AM)
Webster Family Newsletter WEBSTER FAMILY
NEWSLETTER _____________________________________________________________________ October 2002 Vol. 2 Issue 5 We are...
by cindyreid (12/9/02, 5:19 AM)
Reflection Content Reflection:
The CD 315 course was packed with assignments, required readings and writings....
by cindyreid (12/9/02, 3:29 AM)
Preface I was asked to
complete a Multigenre Research Project(MRP)for my CD 315 class. What...
by cindyreid (12/9/02, 12:03 AM)
A Smile All His Own
Scrapbook This is a internet story book written by Lisa...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 9:24 AM)
Email Exchange This is an
email exchange between Lisa Webster and 3 other members of...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 9:14 AM)
Cleft Palate Pamphlet This is
a pamphlet created for parents who find out in utero...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 9:09 AM)
Project Prospectus Essential Question:
Essential Question: What do parents need to know when they have...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 5:16 AM)
Library Search 1 1. Nagourney,
Eric.(2000) Linking Cleft Palates and Smoking Moms. New York Times,...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 4:37 AM)
Acknowledgements I am sure I
could make a list a mile long of all the...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 4:12 AM)
Essential Questions What are the
areas of professional practice that capture my interest? With respect...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 4:00 AM)
About the Author The author,
Cindy Reid, is a twenty-seven year old student at Marshall...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 3:21 AM)
Online Journal 14 I'm not
sure if I have to do a journal this week,...
by cindyreid (12/2/02, 2:25 AM)
Online Journal 13 It seems
as though the superstition that is affiliated with #13 was...
by cindyreid (11/25/02, 1:26 AM)
Online Journal 12 This week
has been pretty good for me! I have been on...
by cindyreid (11/18/02, 1:53 AM)
Online Journal 11 Another week
has passed and I have managed to live through it....
by cindyreid (11/11/02, 5:36 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher